Dannen appointed to NCAA Constitution Committee

NEW ORLEANS – Tulane athletic director Troy Dannen is one of 23 college athletic leaders who will serve on the NCAA Constitution Committee. The announcement was made Tuesday afternoon by the NCAA Board of Governors.

The 23-member committee, which represents the three college athletics divisions, will focus on coming up with ideas to reshape the landscape of college athletics. Dannen is one of the four current athletic directors of Division I of the national committee.

“I am touched and honored to have been chosen by the NCAA Board of Governors to serve as a member of the Constitution Committee,” said Dannen. “Intercollegiate athletics is at a crossroads and we must unite to chart a new course. I look forward to working hard alongside my fellow Committee members to explore the possibilities for the future. “

With his appointment to the Constitution Committee, Dannen now sits on three current NCAA committees. Dannen is also currently chairman of the NCAA Football Competitions Committee and a member of the NCAA Football Oversight Committee.

The committee’s objective will be to identify the fundamental principles that define collegiate sport and to propose a new governance model that allows for faster change without sacrificing broader values, while reaffirming or redefining those values. The committee will be chaired by former US Secretary of Defense Robert Gates, one of the five independent members of the Board of Governors and former chairman of Texas A&M.

“Each of the appointees offers important insight into the transformation needed for the future,” said NCAA President Mark Emmert. “The time has come for a fundamental change. And future change must focus on serving student athletes. “

The governing bodies of the three divisions of the NCAA have proposed nominations for the review committee. Among these candidates, the board appointed university presidents, conference commissioners, athletic directors and students from Divisions I, II and III, as well as independent members of the board of governors.

The committee list includes:

  • Brad Bankston – Commissioner, Old Dominion Athletic Conference.
  • Sandy Barbour – Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics, Penn State.
  • Dean Bresciani – President, State of North Dakota.
  • Greg Christopher – Vice President for Administration, Director of Sports, Xavier.
  • Mary Sue Coleman – Former President of the Association of American Universities, Independent Board Member.
  • Troy Dannen – Director of Sports, Tulane.
  • John DeGioia – President, Georgetown.
  • Robert Gates (Chairman) – Former US Secretary of Defense, Former Chairman of Texas A&M, Independent Board Member.
  • Robin Harris – Executive Director, The Ivy League.
  • Chris Howard – President, Robert Morris.
  • Gayle Hutchinson – President, State of Chico.
  • Jim Johnson – Director of Athletics, State of Pittsburg.
  • Megan Koch – Athletics, Colorado College.
  • Linda Livingstone – President, Baylor.
  • Shane Lyons – Director of Athletics, Associate Vice President, West Virginia.
  • Madeleine McKenna – Volleyball, University of California, Pennsylvania.
  • Fayneese Miller – President, Hamline.
  • Jere Morehead – President, Georgia.
  • Gloria Nevarez – Commissioner, West Coast Conference.
  • Jim Phillips – Commissioner, Atlantic Coast Conference.
  • Julie Ruppert – Commissioner, Northeastern Conference-10.
  • Darryl Sims – Director of Athletics, Wisconsin-Oshkosh.
  • Kendall Spencer – Athletics, New Mexico.

The Board of Governors recently announced its landmark decision to convene a special constitutional convention in November, and action is expected to be taken at the NCAA Convention in January. The Special Constitutional Convention is intended to propose dramatic changes to the NCAA constitution to reinvent aspects of college sports so that the Association can more effectively meet the needs of current and future college athletes.

The Constitution Committee will begin its work immediately. In November, the committee will submit to members a working draft of its proposals. The special constitutional convention will meet no later than November 15. Final proposals will be provided to the NCAA Board of Governors by December 15 and will be voted on in January by the full membership at the NCAA convention.

Download the official Tulane Athletics mobile app. Now you can stay in touch with Green Wave anytime and anywhere on your Android or iOS mobile device.

Fans can follow Tulane Athletics on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram.

Tulane University is located in the city of New Orleans. It is a city built on tradition and resilience. The lessons that the Green Wave student-athletes learned through their connection to this university and this city have BUILT doctors, lawyers, business leaders, conference champions, players from all conferences, Americans , professional athletes and NCAA tournament teams. The city of New Orleans shaped who we are today. We are a city. We are Tulane. We are NOLA BUILT. Discover our story on NolaBuilt.com.

{Courtesy: release of Tulane Athletics}

Source link

Comments are closed.