After no championship since 2019, Division III Women’s National Collegiate Hockey Tournament returns with 10-team roster for 2022 – College Hockey

Nazareth celebrates its first UCHC championship after a 7-0 win over Manhattanville on March 5 (Photo: Nazareth Athletics).

The NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Committee has announced the 10 teams selected for the 2022 NCAA Division III Women’s National Tournament.

Of the 10 teams in the championship, seven of the teams received automatic berths as winners of their conference championship. Three schools were selected from Pool C, which consists of self-qualifying conference institutions that were not the conference champion and independent institutions.


Conferences and teams benefiting from automatic qualification:

Commonwealth Coastal Conference, Endicott
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, Gustavus Adolphus
New England Hockey Conference, Elmira
New England Small College Athletic Conference, Middlebury
Northeast Women’s Hockey League, Plattsburgh
United Collegiate Hockey Conference, Nazareth
Northern Women’s Collegiate Hockey Association, Aurora

The three establishments selected in Group C were Colby, Wisconsin-Eau Claire and Wisconsin-River Falls.

Two first-round matches will be played on March 9 and four quarter-final matches will be played on March 12. All tournament matches will be played at campus venues. First-round matches will be played at 7 p.m. local time. The quarter-final matches will be played at 3 p.m. local time.

The host for the Championship Finals will be confirmed on Saturday evening, March 12, following the conclusion of the quarter-final matches. The semi-finals will take place at one of the four remaining institutions on March 18 and the match for third place and the title match on March 19.

In 2019, Plattsburgh State defeated Hamline 4-0 in Mendota Heights, Minnesota to claim their seventh overall national championship. The 2020 and 2021 championships were not contested due to COVID-19.

Comments are closed.